Track Activity Completion in a CLE Course

Activity Completion Tracking can be enabled for activities and resources course and allows both faculty and students to track progress. When activity completion is enabled, a check box appears for each activity or resource listed on the course home page. When students complete an activity or resource according to the criteria set up by the instructor, the check box will be checked to give a visual representation that the activity is complete. The criterion might be viewing a resource, receiving a certain score, or the student may be required to manually mark an item as complete.

Why use Activity completion?

  • If this feature is enabled, it is a helpful way for students to be able to track their progress in a course. The student has an easy to see checklist of what they have done so far.
  • It can also be linked to Course completion in order to allow both students and teachers to monitor progress towards completing a course. As each activity is checked off as “complete”, the student moves further completing the course.
  • It can also be linked to Restricting access, which allows instructors to set criteria upon which a student is allowed to progress through a course and access materials.
Enable Completion Tracking Using Completion Tracking Reports

Activity Completion Tracking

Activity Completion Icons

Activity Completion is only available if you enable completion tracking in the course settings. Once enabled, you can apply it to each individual activity or resource and specify the completion requirement.

After turning on Completion Tracking for a course, any new resource or activities you add to the course will default to have completion tracking turned on. It is good practice to check the completion tracking settings for each new item as you add it to the course.

To enable completion tracking in your CLE course:

  1. Log in to the CLE (cle.ucsf.edu)
  2. Go to the CLE course where you would like to add activity completion
  3. To access the CLE course settings, locate the gear icon at the top-right and click Edit Settings
  4. On the settings page, scroll down to the Completion tracking section and click the title to expand and reveal its options
  5. To turn completion tracking on, select ‘Yes‘ from the Enable completion tracking drop down menu
  6. Click save changes

Have more questions? Contact us